free html site templates

Werner Neuhaus

Welcome

Werner Neuhaus – Sculptor

For more than 20 years, the sculptor Werner Neuhaus has been living and working in canton Bern, in the upper Emmental. Previously at Moosegg above Signau, and, today, in Zollbrück. The raw material that he exclusively works with is wood - hard and heavy oak wood. Out of this raw material, Neuhaus creates willful forms and figures. Some of them are monumental that dominant entire rooms, others are as filigree as the material and his tool, the chainsaw, barely allow. Nature, animals and raw life constitute Neuhaus`world. For many years, he spent the summers in the Swiss Alps as a herdsman or "Senn", as the alpine cheesemaker is called in Switzerland. Here, the cows determined the structure and flow of his day and a black sheperd was his loyal companion. Now, Werner Neuhaus has settled down on "the Wanner", a small farm in the midst of steep pastures and forest patches, above Zollbrück, in the canton Bern. The cow and the wolf - here, they appear as close friends. And the marks of the chainsaw compose their fur.

Large birdmen stretch out their heavy and sharp beaks towards us. Animal-humen - silent witness and symbols of our alienation. So close and raw in their moving expressivness that it makes you want to touch their rough bodies. "...it feels as though they are waiting for the irruption of the liberating language...", says Martin Kolbe about the monumental group of figures. "The Just" ("Die Gerechten"). Werner Neuhaus`sculptures are in search of a place in the inexorable process of evolution. They desire to take part in our affairs. Bombs made out of wood - an absurd arsenal against widespread bizarre and conjured fears. With a rustic set of fence posts and barbed wire, we try to protect our bodies from the world. And with gas masks of cans and cloth we wait for the unavoidable showdown.


Reto Mettler

«Dazwischen»
Werner Neuhaus – Works 2005 till 2018

As of now the new book can be ordered at a subscription price - as an limited special edition with an original work, too. 
More information (in German)


«We, the human beings as questioning and questionable beings, have the opportunity to learn, for example, in the open view of these works, but also in the reflection on what makes us. In questions, responsibility first comes into its own, and when it comes to a culture, it is primarily a matter of a decided question. »
E. M. Kolbe

Contact

You reach Werner Neuhaus at
mail@wernerneuhaus.ch

Mobile +41 77 462 97 71

© 2017–2018 Werner Neuhaus / iwan raschle – raschlepartner.ch

free bootstrap templates

Werner Neuhaus

Willkommen

Werner Neuhaus – Skulpteur

Seit über 20 Jahren lebt und arbeitet der Bildhauer Werner Neuhaus im oberen Emmental, zunächst auf der Moosegg oberhalb Signau und heute in Zollbrück. Sein Werkstoff ist ausschliesslich Holz, hartes, schweres Eichenholz. Daraus schafft er eigenwillige Figuren und Formen, manche monumental-raumbeherrschend, andere so filigran, wie es das Holz und sein Werkzeug, die Kettensäge, gerade noch zulassen. Die Natur, das Tierische, Handgreifliche, ist Neuhaus’ Lebenswelt. Über Jahre verbringt er den Sommer als Senn auf der Alp. Die Kühe bestimmen den Tageslauf, eine schwarze Schäferhündin ist seine Gefährtin. Nun hat er sich auf dem Wanner bei Zollbrück installiert, einem Emmentaler Bauernhof inmitten steiler Wiesen und Waldflecken. Die Kuh, der Wolf – sie erscheinen hier als Vertraute, die Rillen der Kettensäge werden zum Fellkleid. 

Vogelmänner recken uns schwere Schnäbel entgegen – Tiermenschen – stumme Zeugen unserer Entfremdung und zugleich in ihrer anrührenden Ausdruckskraft so nah, dass man ihre rauen Leiber berühren muss. «... Mir scheint, sie warten auf den Einbruch der erlösenden Sprache ...», schreibt Martin Kolbe über die monumentale Figurengruppe der «Gerechten». Werner Neuhaus’ Skulpturen suchen in einem unaufhaltsamen Evolutionsprozess nach einer Verortung in unserer Gegenwart, wollen teilhaben an unseren Belangen: holzgesägte Bomben – irrwitziges Arsenal gegen bizarre, hochgekochte Ängste. Mit einem rustikalen Set aus Zaunpfählen und Natodraht halten wir uns die Welt vom Leib, mit Gasmasken aus Büchsen und Sacktuch erwarten wir den unausweichlichen Showdown.

Reto Mettler


«Wir, die Menschen als fragwürdige und fragebefähigte Wesen, haben aber die Möglichkeit, zu lernen, zum Beispiel in der offenen Anschauung dieser Werke, aber auch in der Reflexion über das, was uns selbst eigentlich ausmacht. Im Fragen zunächst gelangt die Verantwortung zur Geltung, und wenn von einer Kultur die Rede ist, dann primär von einer dezidierten Fragekultur.»
E.M. Kolbe 

Kontakt

Verwenden Sie dieses Formular, um mit Werner Neuhaus Kontakt aufzunehmen.

© 2017 Werner Neuhaus / raschlepartner.ch